Wed, 21 Aug 2019

Tour de France increases summit bonus seconds

19 Apr 2019, 04:13 GMT+10

Paris - Attacking riders at the Tour de France will be further rewarded after an increase in valuable bonus seconds for being the first to crest key summits.

The new system was ratified by the international cycling federation (UCI), a source said on Thursday.

The winner of each bonus-point sprint will now receive eight seconds, the runner-up five seconds and the third-placed finisher two seconds, instead of 3, 2 and 1sec in place last year.

Eight bonus-point sprints (host town in brackets):

Stage 3 (Epernay): cote de Mutigny

Stage 6 (La Planche des Belles Filles): col des Chevreres

Stage 8 (Saint-Etienne): cote de la Jailliere

Stage 9 (Brioude): cote de Saint-Just

Stage 12 (Bagneres-de-Bigorre): Hourquette d'Ancizan

Stage 15 (Foix Prat d'Albis): mur de Peguere

Stage 18 (Valloire): col du Galibier

Stage 19 (Tignes): col de l'Iseran

More France News

Access More

Sign up for France News

a daily newsletter full of things to discuss over drinks.and the great thing is that it's on the house!